Learn a Life-Long Skill

Posted on Updated on

Join us for this #WeeklyKidChallenge as we learn a life-long skill. Tying a tie and braiding.
Join us for this #WeeklyKidChallenge as we learn a life-long skill. Tying a tie and braiding.
Image Credit: woodleywonderworks via Flicker

My grandmother, an amazing woman, bought my son his first real tie just the other day. She took him into the store to pick one out, and the very first one he saw he loved. It has black and blue strips, but the blue ones are all slightly different shades and look metallic. I’m impressed with his choice. Plus, he has always looked good in blue. I guess this will be a good week to teach him how to tie one.

DSC02343

My daughter, my one and only girl, doesn’t like me to do much with her hair. It is long, thick and beautiful. She loves to just wear it down. No braid, no pony tail, or pig tails, no flips, curls, or especially any of the really cool creations I keep seeing on Facebook. Nothing. Just brushed through quickly so she can get on with her life. However, she has taken an interest in braiding. I know she mostly wants to learn so she can make little friendship bracelets, but I’m hoping that by teaching her and letting her style my hair, she will let me do more with hers. Yes, I do have an ulterior motive. Does that make me a bad mommy?

So, for this Weekly Kid Challenge, they will be learning a skill that they will use through out their life, tying a tie and learning to braid. Do your children already know these skills? Is there another skill that will help them in their life that you want to teach them this week?

Tell us what you are doing this week on here, FaceBook or Twitter using #WeeklyKidChallenge.

Leave a Reply

